Skip to main content

RWA Announces 2020 Award Winners

By January 8, 2021March 10th, 2021News, News & Info

Each year, the Regional Water Authority honors individuals and organizations for their outstanding work during the year and contributions to the region over many years.

Honorees are nominated by the local water community. Those nominations are then reviewed and the honorees selected by an Awards Committee. Many thanks to everyone who took the time to submit nominations, and to the 2020 Awards Committee members for their careful consideration of all of the nominees. Committee members included Chair Paul Selsky, Carmichael Water District Director and Brown and Caldwell Engineer, Dan York of the Sacramento Suburban Water District, and Paul Schubert of the Golden State Water Company.

We look forward to celebrating with all of our award winners and hearing their thoughts in person in 2021!

Congratulations to All of Our Honorees!

Water Statesperson of the Year Awards

Kristin White, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
Kerry Schmitz, Sacramento County Water Agency

For outstanding achievements in building alliances in the RWA service area during 2020

Regional Water Management Award

Project: Regional Groundwater Substitution Transfer

Carmichael Water District, City of Sacramento, Fair Oaks Water District, Golden State Water Company, Sacramento County Water Agency, Sacramento Suburban Water District

For one or more agencies that implement a program that creatively addresses a water management need and also benefits the region

Special Service Award

Mark Madison, Elk Grove Water District

For extraordinary service during extraordinary times

Distinguished Service Awards

Dave Underwood, Sacramento County Water Agency
Tom Gohring, The Water Forum

For service and leadership to the region’s water community over many years

Watch the RWA 2020 Awards Presentation and 2021 Issues Preview Here